Comparison
askimo vs localGPT
Verdict
Pick askimo when askimo is primarily Kotlin; localGPT is Python; pick localGPT when localGPT is primarily Python; askimo is Kotlin.
Markdown twin · askimo alternatives · localGPT alternatives
GraphCanon updated Sep 20, 2026
8views this month
vs
Trust & integrity
| Signal | askimo | localGPT |
|---|---|---|
| Maintenance | Very active (0d since push) As of Sep 20, 2026 · github_public_v1 | Active (13d since push) As of Sep 8, 2026 · github_public_v1 |
| Provenance | Not a fork · Organization account As of Sep 20, 2026 · github_public_v1 | Not a fork · Personal account As of Sep 8, 2026 · github_public_v1 |
| OSV dependency advisories | No lockfile (source not queried) As of Jul 15, 2026 · osv@v1 | Published findings As of Jul 11, 2026 · osv@v1 |
| deps.dev advisories | Not queried deps.dev@v1 | Not queried deps.dev@v1 |
| OpenSSF Scorecard | Not queried openssf-scorecard@v1 | Not queried openssf-scorecard@v1 |
Tagline
- askimo
- AI Client for chat, RAG, and agents with multi-provider model support.
- localGPT
- Chat with your documents locally using GPT models
Stars
- askimo
- 485
- localGPT
- 22k
Forks
- askimo
- 100
- localGPT
- 2.5k
Open issues
- askimo
- 15
- localGPT
- 22
Language
- askimo
- Kotlin
- localGPT
- Python
Adopt for
- askimo
- -
- localGPT
- localGPT allows users to chat with local documents using GPT models completely privately without internet access.
Persona
- askimo
- -
- localGPT
- -
Runtime
- askimo
- -
- localGPT
- -
License
- askimo
- AGPL-3.0
- localGPT
- MIT
Last pushed
- askimo
- Sep 20, 2026
- localGPT
- Aug 26, 2026
Categories
- askimo
- AI Agents, Data & Retrieval
- localGPT
- Data & Retrieval, Inference & Serving
Trust and health
Maintenance
- askimo
- Very active (96%)
- localGPT
- Active (82%)
Days since push
- askimo
- 0d
- localGPT
- 13d
Open issues (now)
- askimo
- 15
- localGPT
- 22
Stars delta
- askimo
- +167 (30d)
- localGPT
- -7 (30d)
Open issues delta
- askimo
- -4 (30d)
- localGPT
- -2 (30d)
Owner type
- askimo
- Organization
- localGPT
- User
OSV dependency advisories
- askimo
- No lockfile (source not queried)
- localGPT
- Published findings
Full report
- askimo
- Trust report
- localGPT
- Trust report
Choose askimo if…
- askimo is primarily Kotlin; localGPT is Python.
- License: askimo is AGPL-3.0, localGPT is MIT.
- Pricing: The pricing information on the Askimo repository is not specified..
- Tags unique to askimo: agentic-workflow, ai-assistant, artificial-intelligence, chat-client.
- Also covers AI Agents.
- Use for Kotlin developers who need to integrate chat and AI agents with multi-provider support including Claude, Codex, Gemini, and OpenAI.
When NOT to use askimo
- Avoid if you require a solution that supports languages other than Kotlin, as Askimo is exclusively built for Kotlin environments.
- Not suitable if your project has strict licensing requirements and requires proprietary code, due to its AGPL-3.0 license which might impose restrictions.
Choose localGPT if…
- localGPT is primarily Python; askimo is Kotlin.
- License: localGPT is MIT, askimo is AGPL-3.0.
- Requirements: Min 4 GB RAM; Requires Docker; Installation is currently tested only on macOS, though instructions for other operating systems are partially provided..
- Tags unique to localGPT: docker-support, document-chat, gpt models, local-inference.
- Also covers Inference & Serving.
- localGPT ships Docker support for self-hosted deployment.
- When absolute privacy is required since no data leaves the user's local device.
When NOT to use localGPT
- If you need to work across multiple devices seamlessly because localGPT requires installation on each device and does not synchronize state online.
- In scenarios requiring frequent updates or model tuning from a cloud service; localGPT relies solely on locally available models which do not auto-update.
Explore
Sources
Every stat on this page traces to a dated GitHub sync, license file, enrichment field, or trust scan.
- GitHub stars (askimo-ai/askimo) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- GitHub forks (askimo-ai/askimo) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- Last push (askimo-ai/askimo) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- License file (AGPL-3.0) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- Decision facts (enrichment) · observed Jul 17, 2026
- Trust scan (lockfile / OSV) · observed Jul 15, 2026
- GitHub stars (PromtEngineer/localGPT) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- GitHub forks (PromtEngineer/localGPT) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- Last push (PromtEngineer/localGPT) · observed Aug 26, 2026
- License file (MIT) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- Decision facts (enrichment) · observed Jul 11, 2026
- Trust scan (lockfile / OSV) · observed Jul 11, 2026
GitHub stars on cards: askimo 485 · localGPT 22k (synced Sep 20, 2026).
Common questions
- What is the difference between askimo and localGPT?
- askimo: AI Client for chat, RAG, and agents with multi-provider model support.. localGPT: Chat with your documents locally using GPT models. See the comparison table for live GitHub stats and shared categories.
- When should I choose askimo over localGPT?
- Choose askimo over localGPT when askimo is primarily Kotlin; localGPT is Python; License: askimo is AGPL-3.0, localGPT is MIT; Pricing: The pricing information on the Askimo repository is not specified.; Tags unique to askimo: agentic-workflow, ai-assistant, artificial-intelligence, chat-client; Also covers AI Agents; Use for Kotlin developers who need to integrate chat and AI agents with multi-provider support including Claude, Codex, Gemini, and OpenAI.
- When should I choose localGPT over askimo?
- Choose localGPT over askimo when localGPT is primarily Python; askimo is Kotlin; License: localGPT is MIT, askimo is AGPL-3.0; Requirements: Min 4 GB RAM; Requires Docker; Installation is currently tested only on macOS, though instructions for other operating systems are partially provided.; Tags unique to localGPT: docker-support, document-chat, gpt models, local-inference; Also covers Inference & Serving; localGPT ships Docker support for self-hosted deployment; When absolute privacy is required since no data leaves the user's local device.
- When should I avoid askimo?
- Avoid if you require a solution that supports languages other than Kotlin, as Askimo is exclusively built for Kotlin environments. Not suitable if your project has strict licensing requirements and requires proprietary code, due to its AGPL-3.0 license which might impose restrictions.
- When should I avoid localGPT?
- If you need to work across multiple devices seamlessly because localGPT requires installation on each device and does not synchronize state online. In scenarios requiring frequent updates or model tuning from a cloud service; localGPT relies solely on locally available models which do not auto-update.
- Is askimo or localGPT more popular on GitHub?
- localGPT has more GitHub stars (22,202 vs 485). Stars measure visibility, not whether either tool fits your constraints.
- Are askimo and localGPT open source?
- Yes - both are open-source projects on GitHub (askimo: AGPL-3.0, localGPT: MIT).
- Where can I find alternatives to askimo or localGPT?
- GraphCanon lists graph-backed alternatives at askimo alternatives and localGPT alternatives (askimo markdown twin, localGPT markdown twin), ranked by typed relationship edges rather than popularity votes.
- Is there a machine-readable version of this comparison?
- Yes. The markdown twin at this comparison mirrors this page for agents and LLM crawlers, with the same stats table and FAQ answers.
- Which is better maintained, askimo or localGPT?
- askimo: Very active. localGPT: Active. Compare maintenance labels, days since push, and release cadence in the trust section below - stars alone do not measure maintenance.
- Where are the full trust reports for askimo and localGPT?
- GraphCanon publishes per-repo trust reports with dated maintenance, provenance, and scan summaries: askimo trust report; localGPT trust report.