Comparison
askimo vs skills
Verdict
Pick askimo when askimo is primarily Kotlin; skills is Python; pick skills when skills is primarily Python; askimo is Kotlin.
Markdown twin · askimo alternatives · skills alternatives
GraphCanon updated Oct 9, 2026
7views this month
Trust & integrity
| Signal | askimo | skills |
|---|---|---|
| Maintenance | Very active (0d since push) As of Sep 20, 2026 · github_public_v1 | Very active (3d since push) As of Oct 9, 2026 · github_public_v1 |
| Provenance | Not a fork · Organization account As of Sep 20, 2026 · github_public_v1 | Not a fork · Organization account As of Oct 9, 2026 · github_public_v1 |
| OSV dependency advisories | No lockfile (source not queried) As of Jul 15, 2026 · osv@v1 | No lockfile (source not queried) As of Jul 11, 2026 · osv@v1 |
| deps.dev advisories | Not queried deps.dev@v1 | Not queried deps.dev@v1 |
| OpenSSF Scorecard | Not queried openssf-scorecard@v1 | Not queried openssf-scorecard@v1 |
Tagline
- askimo
- AI Client for chat, RAG, and agents with multi-provider model support.
- skills
- Agent Skills for the Venice.ai API
Stars
- askimo
- 485
- skills
- 143
Forks
- askimo
- 100
- skills
- 23
Open issues
- askimo
- 15
- skills
- 3
Language
- askimo
- Kotlin
- skills
- Python
Adopt for
- askimo
- -
- skills
- Skills offers support for multiple AI agent runtimes via the Venice.ai API, making it suitable for developers who need versatility and integration with Cursor, Claude, Codex, and other runtimes.
Persona
- askimo
- -
- skills
- -
Runtime
- askimo
- -
- skills
- -
License
- askimo
- AGPL-3.0
- skills
- Skills uses an MIT license allowing free use and modification of its components with a recommended credit link back to https://docs.venice.ai but no legal obligation.
Last pushed
- askimo
- Sep 20, 2026
- skills
- Oct 5, 2026
Categories
- askimo
- AI Agents, Data & Retrieval
- skills
- AI Agents
Trust and health
Days since push
- askimo
- 0d
- skills
- 3d
Open issues (now)
- askimo
- 15
- skills
- 3
Stars delta
- askimo
- +167 (30d)
- skills
- +4 (30d)
Full report
- askimo
- Trust report
- skills
- Trust report
Choose askimo if…
- askimo is primarily Kotlin; skills is Python.
- License: askimo is AGPL-3.0, skills is MIT.
- Pricing: The pricing information on the Askimo repository is not specified..
- Tags unique to askimo: agentic-workflow, ai-assistant, artificial-intelligence, chat-client.
- Also covers Data & Retrieval.
- Use for Kotlin developers who need to integrate chat and AI agents with multi-provider support including Claude, Codex, Gemini, and OpenAI.
When NOT to use askimo
- Avoid if you require a solution that supports languages other than Kotlin, as Askimo is exclusively built for Kotlin environments.
- Not suitable if your project has strict licensing requirements and requires proprietary code, due to its AGPL-3.0 license which might impose restrictions.
Choose skills if…
- skills is primarily Python; askimo is Kotlin.
- License: skills is MIT, askimo is AGPL-3.0.
- Pricing: pricing details are not provided in the current data..
- Tags unique to skills: agent-skills, claude, codex, cursor.
- Use Skills if you are working exclusively within the Venice.ai ecosystem or plan to integrate multiple AI agent runtimes like Cursor, Claude, Codex.
When NOT to use skills
- Avoid Skills if your project only needs support for a single or non-Venice.ai associated AI agent runtime without needing the broad integration offered here.
- Do not use it when detailed per-skill documentation in SKILL.md format is unnecessary for your workflow, as this may introduce additional overhead.
Explore
Sources
Every stat on this page traces to a dated GitHub sync, license file, enrichment field, or trust scan.
- GitHub stars (askimo-ai/askimo) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- GitHub forks (askimo-ai/askimo) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- Last push (askimo-ai/askimo) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- License file (AGPL-3.0) · observed Sep 20, 2026
- Decision facts (enrichment) · observed Jul 17, 2026
- Trust scan (lockfile / OSV) · observed Jul 15, 2026
- GitHub stars (veniceai/skills) · observed Oct 9, 2026
- GitHub forks (veniceai/skills) · observed Oct 9, 2026
- Last push (veniceai/skills) · observed Oct 5, 2026
- License file (MIT) · observed Oct 9, 2026
- Decision facts (enrichment) · observed Jul 17, 2026
- Trust scan (lockfile / OSV) · observed Jul 11, 2026
GitHub stars on cards: askimo 485 · skills 143 (synced Sep 20, 2026).
Common questions
- What is the difference between askimo and skills?
- askimo: AI Client for chat, RAG, and agents with multi-provider model support.. skills: Agent Skills for the Venice.ai API. See the comparison table for live GitHub stats and shared categories.
- When should I choose askimo over skills?
- Choose askimo over skills when askimo is primarily Kotlin; skills is Python; License: askimo is AGPL-3.0, skills is MIT; Pricing: The pricing information on the Askimo repository is not specified.; Tags unique to askimo: agentic-workflow, ai-assistant, artificial-intelligence, chat-client; Also covers Data & Retrieval; Use for Kotlin developers who need to integrate chat and AI agents with multi-provider support including Claude, Codex, Gemini, and OpenAI.
- When should I choose skills over askimo?
- Choose skills over askimo when skills is primarily Python; askimo is Kotlin; License: skills is MIT, askimo is AGPL-3.0; Pricing: pricing details are not provided in the current data.; Tags unique to skills: agent-skills, claude, codex, cursor; Use Skills if you are working exclusively within the Venice.ai ecosystem or plan to integrate multiple AI agent runtimes like Cursor, Claude, Codex.
- When should I avoid askimo?
- Avoid if you require a solution that supports languages other than Kotlin, as Askimo is exclusively built for Kotlin environments. Not suitable if your project has strict licensing requirements and requires proprietary code, due to its AGPL-3.0 license which might impose restrictions.
- When should I avoid skills?
- Avoid Skills if your project only needs support for a single or non-Venice.ai associated AI agent runtime without needing the broad integration offered here. Do not use it when detailed per-skill documentation in SKILL.md format is unnecessary for your workflow, as this may introduce additional overhead.
- Is askimo or skills more popular on GitHub?
- askimo has more GitHub stars (485 vs 143). Stars measure visibility, not whether either tool fits your constraints.
- Are askimo and skills open source?
- Yes - both are open-source projects on GitHub (askimo: AGPL-3.0, skills: MIT).
- Where can I find alternatives to askimo or skills?
- GraphCanon lists graph-backed alternatives at askimo alternatives and skills alternatives (askimo markdown twin, skills markdown twin), ranked by typed relationship edges rather than popularity votes.
- Is there a machine-readable version of this comparison?
- Yes. The markdown twin at this comparison mirrors this page for agents and LLM crawlers, with the same stats table and FAQ answers.
- Which is better maintained, askimo or skills?
- askimo: Very active. skills: Very active. Compare maintenance labels, days since push, and release cadence in the trust section below - stars alone do not measure maintenance.
- Where are the full trust reports for askimo and skills?
- GraphCanon publishes per-repo trust reports with dated maintenance, provenance, and scan summaries: askimo trust report; skills trust report.